[Ruling] Simultaneous Triggering (Judge: Samuel)

Hello folks, it’s Judge Samuel again. Today we’ll be jumping into another topic related to the new rules – Rule Check and Simultaneous Triggering.

Initially I wanted to go through the basics first. However I realized there has been a lot of confusion with the new update (which ironically was made to reduce confusion among players), so let’s skip directly into the topic. But first, let’s look at what “simultaneous triggering” is.

Simultaneous triggering refers to multiple effects that trigger at the same time. For instance BT5 Omegamon here:

It has two [When Digivolving] effects. When you digivolve into Omegamon from a red or blue level 6 Digimon, it will trigger both effects at the same time. So what happens? Since both effects belong to you, you get to choose which to activate first. You can choose to declare an attack with <Blitz> first before unsuspending your Omegamon to prepare it for a second attack, or if it is suspended when it digivolved, you can choose to unsuspend it before declaring the attack with <Blitz>. Whichever you choose to activate first, the second effect will be in a state called “pending activation”, where it will activate when it can.

Simultaneous triggering can also happen from one single effect, for example BT3 Mastemon:

Mastemon’s [When Digivolving] effect does two things:

  1. Trash the top of both player’s security
  2. Play 1 purple or yellow level 4 or lower Digimon.

The first part if the effect can trigger effects such as BT16 Magnamon X-Antibody, BT4 Yagami Hikari (Kari Kamiya), and BT6 Dynasmon, which all trigger when a card is removed from security.

The second part will trigger [On Play] effects of the played Digimon (eg: BT4 Lucemon), and effects such as EX5 Rostrum (Biting Crush).

All those triggered effects would still be considered as simultaneous triggering, even if you trash the security cards first, then only play the level 4 Digimon. This is because they were all triggered by the same effect, hence being considered as having the same timing.

Now here comes the complex part: We mentioned earlier that you are able to choose the activation order of your effects which were triggered simultaneously. What if it involves other player’s effects?

Like our previous example using BT3 Mastemon: Your opponent has a EX5 Rostrum in their battle area, and you digivolve your Digimon into BT3 Mastemon. By playing a BT4 Lucemon with the [When Digivolving] effect of Mastemon, you trigger two effects:

  1. The [On Play] effect of your own Lucemon.
  2. The <Delay> effect of your opponent’s Rostrum.

In this case: TURN PLAYER PRIORITY!

Yes, the turn player will have priority to activate their effect first. If the turn player has multiple effects to resolve, they choose the activation order first, and after all their effects have been resolved, the non-turn player would choose the activation order of their effects and resolve all of them.

But just a reminder: turn player priority is ONLY for simultaneous triggering. It would not affect effects that are not triggered at the same time.

Here is a common scenario where players mistakenly apply turn player priority: Yours board – Gallantmon and Opponnent's board – MadLeomon

You have a BT12 Dukemon with a BT8 Gurimon in its digivolution cards while your opponent has a BT10-Madleomon. You attack with your Dukemon, and trigger its own [When Attacking] effect and the [When Attacking] effect from the inherited effect of Koromon.

So if you decide to activate Koromon first. You draw a card, and this triggers the [Opponent’s Turn] effect of Madleomon. In this case, your opponent would be able to trash cards from your hand from Madleomon’s effect before you can activate the other [When Attacking] effect to delete Madleomon. Some players actually disagree with this process, using “turn player priority” to justify that they should activate both of Dukemon’s [When Attacking] effects before Madleomon can trash cards from their hand. However, the rulebook mentioned that “if activating an effect causes new effects to trigger, they activate before other effects”. Since the inherited effect of Koromon triggered the [Opponent’s Turn] effect of Madleomon, by this rule, it would activate before the other [When Attacking] effect that is currently pending activation. “Turn player priority” will not apply, because Madleomon’s [Opponent’s Turn] effect did not trigger at the same time as the [When Attacking] effects.

So now that we’ve understood simultaneous triggering, how would the new update affect it? Just to make things clear:

The new update ONLY affects trigger timings related to being deleted by rule check. If it doesn’t involve a rule check (eg: Digimon being deleted due to having 0 DP after DP reduction), the new rules would NOT affect it. Outside of that situation, the rest actually stays the same.

Yes, gotta highlight that a bit. I’ve been receiving a lot of messages from players asking whether they are resolving effects as per the new rule updates, but most of these situations do not involve rule check and have no relation to the latest rule updates.

So what are the situations affected by the rule change?

One situation provided by Bandai involves BT8 Flame Hellscythe

As you can see from the image, it reduces the DP of your opponent’s Digimon by 6000, then plays a purple or yellow Digimon card.

So let’s say your opponent has an EX5 Liollmon in its digivolution cards, and you have a BT16 Lopmon (X-Antibody) in your trash. Liollmon’s inherited effect says “[On Deletion] 1 of your opponent's Digimon gets -2000 DP until the end of their turn.”, while Lopmon (X-Antibody) has an effect that says “[On Play] [When Digivolving] By trashing 1 card in your hand, 1 of your Digimon gets +3000 DP for the turn.”

This is what happens by the old rules:

  1. Use Flame Hellscythe, reduce the DP of your opponent’s Digimon by 6000, then play a Lopmon (X-Antibody) from your trash. This trigger’s Lopmon (X-Antibody)’s [On Play] effect.
  2. Rule check occurs, since the DP of your opponent’s Digimon is at 0, it gets deleted. This triggers the [On Deletion] inherited effect of Liollmon.
  3. The [On Deletion] inherited effect of Liollmon will activate first, as it was only triggered by the rule check which occurred AFTER the effect of Flame Hellscythe resolved. In this case, the opponent can choose to apply it on Lopmon (X-Antibody).
  4. Rule check occurs, Lopmon (X-Antibody) gets deleted because it has 0 DP, hence it can no longer activate its [On Play] effect.

The new rules now state that "Effects that are triggered during one process and effects that are triggered by a subsequent rule check are triggered simultaneously.”

That means by the new rules, Liollmon’s [On Deletion] inherited effect will have the same timing as Lopmon (X-Antibody)’s [On Play] effect, because the deletion occurred due to a DP reduction that was from the same effect that played Lopmon (X-Antibody). Here is how the new sequence will play out:

  1. Use Flame Hellscythe, reduce the DP of your opponent’s Digimon by 6000, then play a Lopmon (X-Antibody) from your trash. This trigger’s Lopmon (X-Antibody)’s [On Play] effect.
  2. Rule check occurs, since the DP of your opponent’s Digimon is at 0, it gets deleted. This triggers the [On Deletion] inherited effect of Liollmon.
  3. Since subsequent rule checks will be counted as the same timing as the effects that caused it, the effects from Lopmon (X-Antibody) and Liollmon would be considered to have triggered at the same time. So with turn player priority, Lopmon (X-Antibody)’s [On Play] effect would activate first, allowing you to trash a card from your hand to increase its DP by 3000.
  4. Liollmon’s inherited effect activates, applying -2000 onto Lopmon (X-Antibody). However since Lopmon (X-Antibody) has gotten its DP increased by 3000, it would not get deleted.

Well, I hope this article has helped address the confusion. Just remember, turn player priority only involves effects that trigger at the same time, and the only change in the rules with this update is the trigger timing of rule check deletion. Feel free to drop a comment below if you have further queries. Alternatively, check out this video that I made:

3 thoughts on “[Ruling] Simultaneous Triggering (Judge: Samuel)”

  1. Hi Judge,

    how about this scenario:
    Playing Bt6-110 cutting edge to play BT17-075 LVL5 eosmon. with the new rulings, will the dedigivolve of onplay eosmon come first, or the delete effect?

    1. Hi, not the author, but to answer your question: You have to fully resolve BT6-110 Cutting Edge before activating BT17-075 Eosmon dedigivolve effect. So the delete part of Cutting Edge must finish resolving before Eosmon onplay effect activates.

    2. Hi Akugawa,

      Thank you for your question!

      Yes, Velonizz is correct. You will have to complete resolve Cutting Edge before you can activate the [On Play] effect of Eosmon. Because playing an Eosmon and deleting a Digimon all comes from the same effect, so unless it is an immediate-type effect (commonly referred to as interruptive effect), you will have to finish resolving the whole effect before you can activate another effect. This part remains the same as the old rules.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

PHP Code Snippets Powered By : XYZScripts.com

Contact Us