[Ruling] Attack Related Effects (Judge: Samuel)

Advertisements

Hey everyone! Sorry for the absence last week, but things haven’t been too great as I was down with a flu. Also why I’m not at GAO this weekend, gotta rest up to make sure I can keep running haha. It’s been a pretty eventful week, Bandai released some new Q&As alongside the EX7 Q&A, which brought some changes to the game, but I shall probably talk about that later on. Because today we will be touching on keyword effects that are related to attacking.

EX7 just dropped, exactly a week after BT16 came out in English. What’s the similarities between both sets? Well each set introduces a new attack-related effect to their respective metas – Iceclad and Collision.

Alongside these two, we have 10 other keyword effects while are related to attacks, and I took the liberty to group them up into these categories:

*Note: These are not officially recognized categories from the game rules. I made them up solely for this article so it would be easier to explain.

Well you might have noticed that I left out 1 effect from the chart above – Rush. Well I don’t know where it belongs because it doesn’t really fit those 4 groups above. Well regardless, let’s look deeper into the keyword effect itself:

"Rush"

Description: This Digimon can attack the turn it comes into play.

Effect Type: Persistent-Type Effect

Debut: BT-04 Great Legends

I’m pretty sure you all are aware that Digimon cannot attack during the turn that they are played. <Rush> allows you to do that. So how does it work?

First, we have to understand that “Digimon can’t attack the turn it is played” is actually a rule in the game. Some people describe this rule by borrowing terms from other games like “summoning sickness”, however that has somehow made people think of it as a condition instead of a rule. So we quite often see people mistakenly think that <Rush> removes this “summoning sickness” condition, and your Digimon would be able to attack after that regardless of whether or not it still has <Rush>. Mind you, it doesn’t work that way. As mentioned earlier, “Digimon can’t attack the turn it is played” is actually a game rule, and <Rush> doesn’t remove it. It merely allows you to bypass the rule. So like all persistent-type effects, you need to have <Rush> on the Digimon to bypass the rule. Here are some situations to illustrate how it works:

  1. You play a Digimon with <Rush> then digivolve it into a Digimon without <Rush>. Because you just played it this turn, and lost <Rush> through digivolution, you can no longer attack with it.
  2. You play a Digimon without <Rush> then digivolve it into a Digimon with <Rush>. Since the Digimon has <Rush> now, it can attack this turn.

Pretty straightforward isn’t it? Well in a somewhat related situation, if you played a Tamer that turn, and digivolve it into a hybrid Digimon, you would still not be able to attack (unless you have <Rush>) because it still counts as being played in that turn, even though it was played as a Tamer. So isn’t <Rush> useful?

"Blitz"

Description: If your opponent has 1 or more memory, this Digimon may attack

Effect Type: Trigger-Type Effect

Debut: BT-05 Battle of Omni

<Blitz> is an effect which allows you to attack when the memory is on your opponent’s side. Which leads us to the most common question: Can I attack any time the memory is on my opponent’s side?

Whoa whoa whoa calm down buddy, it doesn’t work that way. <Blitz> always comes with a timing. You know those blue boxes with words?

Yea, just like in the image above, it usually comes with a trigger timing, and most of the time it is [When Digivolving]. However, there are cards which give it “[On Play] <Blitz>” as well.

Regardless if it’s [On Play] or [When Digivolving], it always comes with a timing, so you can’t just declare an attack any time the memory is on your opponent’s side. What’s cool is that if you declare an attack with Blitz, even if the memory goes to 0 or back to your side, the attack continues! But you gotta make sure that you have activated it before the memory gets to 0 or more.

But what if you trigger <Blitz> while you are already attacking with <Blitz>? Huh? Is that possible? Well that actually happened during EX2, thanks to Takato Matsuki

 

If you had a Growlmon with BT9 X-Antibody in its digivolution cards and digivolved it into a WarGrowlmon, your WarGrowlmon would gain “[When Digivolving] <Blitz>” for the turn. So with that, you can declare an attack with <Blitz>, triggering X-Antibody, which allows you to further digivolve into WarGrowlmon (X-Antibody). That would trigger <Blitz> again, creating what players commonly call a “double-Blitz situation”. However, since your Digimon is already in the midst of an ongoing attack, the second <Blitz> will do nothing, because you cannot attack while another attack is still ongoing.

Vortex

Description: At the end of your turn, this Digimon may attack an opponent's Digimon. With this effect, it can attack the turn it was played.

Effect Type: Trigger-Type Effect

Debut: ST-18 Guardian Vortex

<Vortex> is another effect that allows you to attack when the memory is on your opponent’s side. But again, it’s not any time the memory is on your opponent’s side, so no activating <Vortex> during your opponent’s turn either. It triggers at the end of your turn, so basically it is when all pending effects have been resolved and the memory is on your opponent’s side, and just before passing the turn over. Just like <Blitz>, it's pretty common to see people asking about “multi-Vortex situations”. If you have two or more Digimon with Vortex, at the end of the turn, can you declare 2 attacks? Well just like <Blitz>, you cannot declare 2 attacks, because you can only declare 1 attack at a time. Why can’t you wait for the first attack to end before activating the second <Vortex>? Because all pending effects will have to be resolved before you can battle. At the end of your turn, both <Vortex> gets triggered. You activate one of them to declare an attack. After that, you will have to activate the second one before you can battle. But since there is already an ongoing attack, the second <Vortex> does nothing.

That said, since all pending effects will have to be resolved before the battle, can you take advantage of effects like ST9 Wormmon to jogress into something stronger? Well someone actually came up with this scenario: You have a ST18 Galemon with a ST9 Wormmon in its digivolution cards in the battle area.

  1. Play a level 4 blue Digimon from hand to get the memory across to your opponent’s side.
  2. <Vortex> of ST18 Galemon and the [End of Your Turn] inherited effect of ST9 Wormmon triggers. Activate <Vortex> first, declare an attack with Galemon.
  3. Activate [End of Your Turn] effect of ST9 Wormmon to jogress your Galemon and level 4 blue Digimon into Paildramon.

The player actually expected to be able to attack with Paildramon. Unfortunately, jogress causes the Digimon to enter the battle area as a new Digimon, hence it is no longer the Digimon which declared the attack. So the attack would end.

"Overclock ([Trait] Trait)"

Description: At the end of your turn, by deleting 1 of your Tokens or other [Trait] trait Digimon, this Digimon may attack a player without suspending.

Effect Type: Trigger-Type Effect

Debut: ST-19 Fable Waltz

Okay I’m not going to lie that I feel disappointed that this starter deck is not called Overclock Waltz or Fable Overclock. You call the starter deck that introduced <Vortex> Guardian Vortex, but not have the word Overclock in the starter deck that introduced <Overclock>. Such injustice. Or maybe that’s why I’m not the game designer, because maybe Overclock Waltz or Fable Overclock sounds weird. Hahahaha. Well just like <Vortex>, this effect allows you to attack at the end of your turn as well. However, in order to do that, you will have to delete another token or Digimon with the traits mentioned in the keyword. So far, I guess we only have <Overclock ([Puppet] Trait)>, but I used [Trait] as a placeholder in case we get other traits in the future. Similarly to <Vortex>, at the end of the turn, you cannot attack more than once if you have 2 or more Digimon with <Overclock> in your battle area, even if there are more than 1 eligible token/Digimon for you to delete (you can continue to delete them however). If you want to attack with <Overclock> more than once per turn, you will have to find a way to make the memory move back to 0 or larger after you attack, then end your turn again. Also, unlike the previous two keyword effects, <Overclock> is a mandatory effect with an optional processing condition. Yes, you can choose to not to attack by not deleting your token/digimon, but if you delete a token/Digimon with <Overclock>, then you must attack.

And that completes all the effects that cause attacks. Moving on, here are the keyword effects that are caused by effects. They aren’t necessarily triggered by the attack declaration, but would only come into effect if there is an attack.

Raid

Description: When this Digimon attacks, you may switch the target of attack to 1 of your opponent's unsuspended Digimon with the highest DP.

Effect Type: Trigger-Type Effect

Debut: BT-11 Dimensional Phase

As the description says, this effect redirects your attack to your opponent’s unsuspended Digimon with the highest DP. It allows you to bypass effects which prevent Digimon from being attacked, like BT10 Venusmon.

Why is that so? Well basically to be considered as “attacking Venusmon”, you will have to declare an attack with Venusmon as the target. Declaring an attack on something else then switching the target to Venusmon does not count as attacking Venusmon.

Other than that, it also bypasses Digimon that are not affected by the opponent’s effects. <Raid> is actually applied to the attack itself, hence nothing is applied onto the target Digimon, causing that immunity to not affect it.

Alliance

Description: When this Digimon attacks, by suspending 1 of your other Digimon, add the suspended Digimon's DP to this Digimon and it gains <Security Attack +1> for the attack.

Effect Type: Trigger-Type Effect

Debut: EX-4 Alternative Being

<Alliance> is a mandatory effect with an optional processing condition. If you suspend 1 of your other Digimon, then you must gain its DP and the security attack boost. If you have multiple instances of <Alliance>, and also have multiple Digimon to suspend, then you can gain all their DP one by one (and you’ll also gain a security attack boost for each).

That said, you should note that the DP that the <Alliance> Digimon gains is the DP of the suspended Digimon at the time it was suspended. So if you suspended a Digimon with 4000 DP, your <Alliance> Digimon will gain 4000 DP. It won’t matter if its DP increases or decreases later on in the turn, and the DP gain will persist even if it gets deleted later on during the turn. However, if there is a persistent-type effect which reduces all your suspended Digimon’s DP, like Rapidmon (X-Antibody)’s effect, then it would be a different case.

As you can see, Rapidmon (X-Antibody)’s effect gives their opponent’s Digimon -4000DP if they are in a suspended state. So once you suspend your Digimon with <Alliance>, this effect will take effect immediately, and your Digimon will gain -4000 DP less than what the target Digimon originally had.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

PHP Code Snippets Powered By : XYZScripts.com

Contact Us